Blog

Monday, January 10, 2022

Friday, January 7, 2022

Monday, January 3, 2022

Monday, December 20, 2021

Friday, December 17, 2021

Show All

Monday, December 13, 2021

Friday, December 10, 2021

Monday, December 6, 2021

Friday, December 3, 2021

As Medicare’s open enrollment period is due to end December 7, recipients of the program are preparing for a larger-than-expected jump in prices for premiums and deductibles.1,2For example, Medicare Part B monthly premiums are...

Monday, November 29, 2021

News of a new, highly virulent COVID variant triggered a market sell-off on Friday, sending stocks into negative territory for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slid 1.97%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 slumped 2...

Friday, November 26, 2021

The holiday season is often a quiet, positive time for the financial markets. The phrase “Santa Claus Rally” was coined in the early 1970s to reflect the stock market’s upward bias during the November-January stretch...

Monday, November 22, 2021

Stocks were mixed last week in choppy trading as investors battled the crosscurrents of good economic data and a troubling rise in COVID-19 infections globally.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slid 1.38%, while the Standard &...

Friday, November 19, 2021

You see it in prices at the grocery store and the gas station. You feel it in your monthly budget. So why don’t the financial markets seem too concerned about inflation?Remember, financial markets are considered...

Monday, November 15, 2021

Stocks posted small declines last week as investors digested recent stock market gains and an unexpectedly high inflation read.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slid 0.63%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 retreated 0.31%. The...

Friday, November 12, 2021

Preparing for retirement just got a little more financial wiggle room. This week, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) announced new contribution limits for 2022.Staying put for 2022 are traditional Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs)...

Monday, November 8, 2021

A Federal Reserve announcement on tapering, a fresh batch of corporate profits, and encouraging economic data lifted stocks to another weekly gain.The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.42%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500...

Friday, November 5, 2021

While it’s still too early to draw any final conclusions, Congress is getting closer to outlining what tax law changes are under consideration to pay for the proposed $1.75 trillion Build Back Better Plan.1For now, it appears...

Monday, November 1, 2021

A fresh wave of positive corporate earnings surprises sent markets to new record highs last week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average increased 0.40%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 rose 1.33%. The Nasdaq Composite index picked...

Monday, October 25, 2021

Stocks rallied last week on a stream of positive corporate earnings surprises.The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.08%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 advanced 1.64%. The Nasdaq Composite index gained 1.29% for the week....

Friday, October 22, 2021

While the world has begun to recover from the economic disruption of the COVID-19 pandemic, the delayed reaction has been felt in the supply chain. Industrial shutdowns around the world slowed production to a relative crawl, leaving...

Monday, October 18, 2021

A strong opening to the third-quarter earnings season sparked a late week, broad-based rally that helped stocks finish the week with solid gains.The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.58%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500...

Friday, October 15, 2021

On October 13, 2021, the Social Security Administration (SSA) officially announced that Social Security recipients will receive a 5.9 percent cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) for 2022, the largest increase in four decades. This...

Monday, October 11, 2021

The overhang of bumping against the federal debt ceiling was lifted last week with an agreement to extend the debt ceiling through early December, helping propel stocks to a weekly gain.The Dow Jones Industrial Average increased by 1...

Friday, October 8, 2021

Most likely, you’ve heard what’s brewing in Washington, D.C., called by one of these names.The Build Back Better Act. Or the $3.5 trillion budget reconciliation bill. Or the Jobs and Economic Recovery Plan for Working...

Monday, October 4, 2021

Higher bond yields and a legislative stalemate in Washington, D.C., added up to losses for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average declined 1.36%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 lost 2.21%. The Nasdaq Composite index fell...

Friday, October 1, 2021

Debates over government debt, taxes, and infrastructure have captured the attention of the nation this week. All eyes are on Washington and Wall Street as these events play out, with potentially far-reaching consequences that seem to...

Monday, September 27, 2021

Stocks prices were whipsawed last week, dragged initially lower by financial contagion worries and later lifted by a supportive Fed policy statement.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 0.62%, while the Standard & Poor’s...

Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Stocks weakened ahead of this week’s Federal Reserve meeting and amid persistent concerns about the Delta variant’s impact on the economy.The Dow Jones Industrial Average was flat (-0.07%), while the Standard &...